She’s just not adoptable.

macytheunadoptable

Kicking off our series of less adoptable pet stories with one of our favorite girls, Macy….

About a year and a half ago, I stood in a large animal shelter feeling very unsure of myself and the tiny cat rescue that I had just started.  We weren’t incorporated.  I didn’t have a business card.  Looking back now, I don’t even think I had a carrier.

These were the Professionals.  I didn’t want to ruffle anyone’s feathers.  I didn’t want to make a scene.  I didn’t want to look like a crazy person.  But, more than any of that, I didn’t want to leave without the cats.

Earlier that afternoon, I had received a call from a frantic man who had surrendered his two cats to his local shelter because he had lost his job and was soon to lose his housing.  Within a few days he received a call from the shelter informing him that the cats would not let anyone touch them, and the older cat in particular was going to be euthanized that day.  The man could not take them back and, unable to find anyone else to take them, turned to us.

Jill and I drove an hour to the shelter, calling multiple times on the way to leave messages assuring them that we could place the cats in a foster home that day and asking that they please wait for us to arrive before euthanizing either of the cats.

When we arrived, we explained that the owner was terrified that the cat was about to be euthanized.  The woman behind the counter replied, “It’s not as dramatic as all that.”

Even after we offered to take both cats, the staff argued that “She’s just not adoptable.”  They also insisted that I understand “Decisions have to be made so that the most adoptable cats can be seen and adopted, ” even though we were offering to remove the cats from the shelter on the spot.  They showed us the cat cowering in the back of her cage and urged us to see the big picture.  What I saw, was the cat.  After what seemed like an eternity, the cats were eventually released into our care.

Jill, insisting she was a dog person, had offered to foster in a true emergency.  Well, we had found one, and the two girls went home with her for foster care.  Jill and Dana soon fell in love with Macy and Gellie, and the rest is history….

Here’s Macy (still affectionatly referred to as “Macy the Unadoptable”) at home, snuggling with her daughter Gellie:

macygelliesnuggle

Remember, Adopt-A-Less-Adoptable-Pet Day is August 12th!

3 responses to “She’s just not adoptable.

  1. This is such a touching story…it actually made me cry. I really admire all the work that you’ve done so far. Keep up the good work!

  2. Pingback: Rest In Peace, Macy. | Black Cat Rescue

  3. Pingback: Everyone Deserves a Home | Black Cat Rescue

Leave a Reply

