Life Lessons from Dolly and Kenny

I believe there’s aways hope when all seems lost, and I believe in Santa Clause.

I believe in Santa Clause.  I’ll tell you why I do.  I believe that dreams and plans and wishes can come true.  I believe in miracles.  I believe in magic too.  I believe in Santa Clause, and I believe in you.

 -Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers

I’m dancing around the house to a little Dolly and Kenny today, cutting up some candy cane fudge for tonight.  I’ve always loved country music- the cheesier the better, and I can’t help but apply inspirational song lyrics to the work we are doing with homeless cats.  A few things that keep me going:

I believe that there is someone out there for every cat, and all we have to do is find him or her (easy, right?).

I believe that what we do matters- not just to the cats we save, but to the people whose lives they enrich.

I believe in the good in people- that most people are kind and care about more than just themselves.  I’ve met too many wonderful people this year not to- foster volunteers, adopters, fellow rescuers and all the people who took the time to feed a stray cat and send me an email.

I believe that in my lifetime, through TNR programs, improved sheltering models and lots of hard work, every homeless pet will be guaranteed a good home.

That last one may require more details!  We will talk more about goals and strategies for the coming year in a New Year’s post.  For now, Happy Holidays and stay warm!

Leave a Reply

