Happy Tail: Steve has been adopted!

Today’s Happy Tail will be a little bit different because the adopter is a part of the Black Cat Rescue team. I am very excited to let you know that today’s Happy Tail adopter is yours truly – Lisa, the BCR social media guru and blogger!

Congratulations to Steve in his new forever home!

Congratulations to Steve on his new forever home!

Steve came to Black Cat Rescue after living 12.5 years with one family who were forced to give him up after they  moved. His former owners were very sad to see him go, but they knew he would be safe with Black Cat Rescue and find a new loving forever home.

Steve's adorable face caught my attention immediately! I've never met a cat named Steve before, but it fits him perfectly!

Steve’s adorable face caught my attention immediately! I’ve never met a cat named Steve before, but it fits him perfectly!

I lost my beloved cat in Fall of 2014 after she suddenly fell ill. She had been a dedicated companion to me and especially to my dog, Gus, who grew up learning cat-like habits from her and driving her bonkers for fun. It’s been clear he has been missing her feline company during the day while the humans are working. I had been keeping my home open for BCR foster cats, but a foster home with a high-energy dog is definitely harder to fill than a cat-only or no-pet foster home!

Steve is a total softie, but a well-timed picture of a yawn makes him look like he's roaring!

Steve is a total softie, but a well-timed picture of a yawn makes him look like he’s roaring!

When Steve’s foster dad went away on a work trip, my home was still open for fostering and it seemed a perfect opportunity to get Gus some feline company for a while. Plus, I had been following Steve through updates from his foster dad– his goofy face and silly ways caught me! Jen, our fearless leader, knew Steve had lived happily alongside dogs in his former home and it seemed reasonable that he would fit in well. Steve was moved into my home while his foster dad went away.

Steve in his forever home with BCR blog author Lisa!

Steve in his forever home with BCR blog author Lisa!

Of course, after spending a few weeks with Steve, my family couldn’t give him up! He lives happily alongside the crazy dog and has found his own special places to cuddle up away from the wet nose when he needs a break. Steve is super affectionate and has even won over my husband– a definite “dog person.”

So congratulations to Steve! We are so lucky to have such a great new feline to love and we look forward to many happy years with him!

2 responses to “Happy Tail: Steve has been adopted!

  1. Yay Steve!!! Happy you have your furever home. Thanks Lisa for taking him in. 🙂

  2. This is so odd….my son had a cat named Steve who was marked very similar to your Steve. He was a great cat, a little slow, but a cuddly, sweet friend. Your Steve looks smarter!
    So glad he’s got his forever home at last.

Leave a Reply

